Pillars of the AOFAS


The Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation's Pillars of the AOFAS initiative honors iconic surgeons who have advanced the Society and the profession through their leadership and dedication to educating foot and ankle orthopaedic surgeons. 

Nominations for 2020 Pillars have closed.

Pillar Award Eligibility

2019 Pillar

Sigvard T. Hansen Jr., MDSigvard T. Hansen Jr., MD

Sigvard "Ted" Hansen Jr., MD, is a world-renowned pioneer in both orthopaedic traumatology and reconstructive surgery of the foot and ankle. After joining the University of Washington Department of Orthopedics in the 1970s, he quickly became a revered mainstay and leader in the foot and ankle field. Exercising a legendary disdain for bureaucracy, Dr. Hansen brought his foot and ankle service to international prominence while also serving as Department Chair from 1981-85.

Over his four-decade career, Dr. Hansen mentored more than 70 domestic fellows and scores of international fellows — many of whom have gone on to be division chiefs, department heads, and leaders in the AOFAS and the worldwide foot and ankle realm. He is also an AO Fellow and winner of the AO Innovation Prize.

Make a Gift in Dr. Hansen's Honor

Thank you to the following donors for their contributions to the Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation in honor of Sigvard T. Hansen Jr., MD (as of July 15, 2019).

To add your name to the growing list of supporters, please click the link above.

Arash Aminian, MD
John G. Anderson, MD*
Kevin C. Anderson
Michael S. Aronow, MD
Craig R. Barrow, MD
Timothy C. Beals, MD
Paul A. Bednarz, MD
Eric M. Bluman, MD, PhD*
Donald R. Bohay, MD, FACS*
James W. Boyle, MD
Nicholas A. Cheney, DO
Michael P. Clare, MD
J. Chris Coetzee, MD*
Jay L. Crary, MD
Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD
Christopher W. DiGiovanni, MD*
John S. Early, MD
Erik B. Eller, MD
Scott J. Ellis, MD
Sergio Fernández, MD
Justin K. Greisberg, MD*
Daniel Guss, MD, MBA
Mariam Hakim-Zargar, MD, MPH
Christian C. Hall, MD
Thomas M. Hearty, MD, DPT
Thomas S. Helpenstell, MD
Jeffrey A. Henning, MD
Todd A. Irwin, MD

Christina A. Kabbash, MD, MPH, PhD
David A. Katcherian, MD
John I. Khoury, MD
Kaj Klaue, MD
Alan J. Laing, MD
Richard T. Laughlin, MD
Robert H. Leland, MD
Sandy Macnab
Eric S. Malicky, MD
Arthur Manoli II, MD
Erik J. Novak, MD, PhD
Garrett J. Pangrazzi, MD
Steven J. Pinney, MD
Gregory C. Pomeroy, MD
Stefan Rammelt, MD, PhD
Matthew M. Roberts, MD
Mark S. Sanders, MD
Andrew K. Sands, MD*
Bruce J. Sangeorzan, MD*
Kim Slater, MBBS, FRACS
Benjamin W. Stevens, MD
Wesley M. Stotler, DO
John C. Tanner III, MD
Robert G. Veith, MD
Brian M. Weatherford, MD
Joan R. Williams, MD
Alastair S.E. Younger, MBChB, ChM

* Hansen Pillar Champion

2018 Inaugural Pillars

John S. Gould, MDJohn S. Gould, MD

John S. Gould, MD, was a master surgeon, clinician, educator, and leader. As chair of the Department if Orthopaedic Surgery at the Medical College of Wisconsin for 10 years, he established a prestigious fellowship for foot and ankle orthopaedic surgery. His commitment to advancing orthopaedics was evident as he served as AOFAS president from 1985-86 as well as president of several other orthopaedic organizations.

Dr. Gould passed away in September 2015, but his legacy lives on through his research, writing, and former fellows who have followed in his footsteps to make great contributions to orthopaedics.

Make a Gift in Dr. Gould's Honor


William G. Hamilton, MDWilliam G. Hamilton, MD

William G. Hamilton, MD, is a respected member of the orthopaedic community, well-known for his exceptional teaching, clinical expertise, and witty "Hamiltonisms." In 1972, Dr. Hamilton was hired by George Balanchine, co-founder of the New York City Ballet, to provide care for the company's 100+ dancers. He later took on roles as the orthopaedic surgeon for the American Ballet Theatre, the School of American Ballet, the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School of Ballet, as well as consultant for the New York Knicks and New York Yankees.

Dr. Hamilton served as AOFAS President from 1992-93 and has mentored more than 50 foot and ankle orthopaedic fellows.

Make a Gift in Dr. Hamilton's Honor


Pillars Tribute Gifts

Thank you to the following donors for their contributions to the Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation in honor of the Pillars of the AOFAS (as of March 1, 2019).


In honor of John S. Gould, MD

Robert S. Adelaar, MD
Robert B. Anderson, MD
Marion Auerbach
Judith F. Baumhauer, MD, MPH
Anthony P. Belmont, MD
Kevin P. Black, MD
Paul B. Canale, MD
Bruce E. Cohen, MD
Ana Katherine Curry, MD
Eugene E. Curry, MD
Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD
Grant A. Dona, MD
Jessica M. Downes, MD
Tracie & Jeffrey R. Dugas, MD
Mark D. Foster, MD
Daniel W. Guehlstorf, MD
Sigvard T. Hansen Jr., MD
Gerald F. Harris, PhD
John G. Heller, MD
Jeffrey E. Johnson, MD
William D. Krauss, DO
Benta & Jack E. Lemons, PhD


Sheldon S. Lin, MD
Roger M. Lyon, MD
Carole & William Markus
Kenneth Marshall, MD
Ronnie Mathews, MD
Leland C. McCluskey, MD
James R. McWilliam, MD
Tye J. Ouzounian, MD
Paul L. Penar, MD
Michael S. Pinzur, MD
Carol & E. Greer Richardson, MD
Ramon F. Rodriguez, MD
B. Hoagland Rosania, MD
Lew C. Schon, MD
Jeffrey P. Schwab, MD
David G. Scott, MD
Shao-Min Shi, MD, PhD
Judith W. Smith, MD
Susan & Steven M. Theiss, MD
Robert J. Treuting, MD
John L. Trotter, MD
Emilio Wagner, MD


In honor of William G. Hamilton, MD

Stephanie P. Adam, DO
Amgad M. Haleem Amin, MD
Donna J. Astion, MD
Lucas J. Bader, MD
Erroll J. Bailey, MD
Harpreet S. Basran, MD
Phillip A. Bauman, MD
Andrew A. Brief, MD
Lloyd C. Briggs, MD
Haydee C. Brown, MD
Wen Chao, MD
Timothy P. Charlton, MD
Lan Chen, MD
Steven C. Choung, MD
William G. Cimino, MD
Frank A. Cordasco, MD
W. Hodges Davis, MD
Richard J. De Asla, MD
Jonathan T. Deland, MD
Andrew J. Elliott, MD
Scott J. Ellis, MD
John M. Feder, MD
Richard D. Ferkel, MD
Jessica B. Gallina, MD
Mark J. Geppert, MD
Charles B. Goodwin, MD


Jonathan Gordon, MD
MaCalus V. Hogan, MD
Christopher E. Hubbard, MD
David J. Inda, MD
A. Holly Johnson, MD
John G. Kennedy, MD
Paul E. Kovatis, MD
Joshua H. Lamb, MD
Eric W. Lloyd, MD
Margaret J. Lobo, MD
Thomas M. Novella, DPM
Irvin Chung Oh, MD
Martin J. O'Malley, MD
Tye J. Ouzounian, MD
Alexandra E. Page, MD
Kenneth K. Park, MD
Mihir M. Patel, MD
Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD
Alejandro E. Pino, MD
Victor Prisk, MD
Omar Saleem, MD
Christine M. Seaworth, MD
Roman A. Sibel, MD
Nazzar Tellisi, MSc, MBChB
Kurt V. Voellmicke, MD
J. Turner Vosseller, MD