Traveling Fellowship Program


The 2020 Traveling Fellowship Program has been postponed until 2022 due to COVID-19. Please note, the recipients below have all accepted positions in the 2022 Traveling Fellowship program, so there will not be an application period in 2022.

The Traveling Fellowship Program offers a special opportunity for mid-career AOFAS members to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting and visit leading foot and ankle research and educational institutions. The program is open to AOFAS Active, Candidate, and International Members who are 49 years old or younger at the time of application. 

At host sites, Traveling Fellows will observe operating rooms, learn new surgical techniques alongside accomplished surgeons, and present their own research and clinical experiences. The program aims to promote professional relationships, exchange ideas, and encourage new thinking on research and clinical care topics.

Questions? Contact the AOFAS Executive Office at or 800-235-4855 or +1-847-698-4654 (outside US).

Congratulations to the Traveling Fellows!

The following six recipients of the Traveling Fellowship Awards were selected by the AOFAS Awards & Scholarships Committee.


Nasef Mohamed Nasef Abdelatif, MD

Nasef Mohamed Nasef Abdelatif, MD 



Cesar de Cesar Netto, MD, PhD

Cesar de Cesar Netto, MD, PhD 

United States


Young Koo Lee, MD, PhD

Young Koo Lee, MD, PhD

South Korea 


N. Jane Madeley, MBChB, MRCS, FRCS(Tr&Orth)

N. Jane Madeley, MBChB, MRCS, FRCS(Tr&Orth) 

United Kingdom

Paul G. Talusan, MD

Paul G. Talusan, MD 

United States


Hailin Xu, MD

Hailin Xu, MD 



Past Traveling Fellowship Award Recipients


  • Mohamed M. Abd-Ella, MD, Egypt

  • Daniel S. Baumfeld, MD, Brazil

  • Jun Young Choi, MD, South Korea

  • Constantine A. Demetracopoulos, MD, United States

  • Daniel Guss, MD, MBA, United States

  • Hui Zhang, MD, PhD, China


  • Jinsong Hong, MD, China

  • Kaan S. Irgit, MD, Turkey

  • Charles R.J. Jowett, MBBS, MRCS, United Kingdom

  • Dong-Oh Lee, MD, South Korea

  • Pradeep Moonot, MBBS, MS(Orth), India

  • Satoshi Yamaguchi, MD, PhD, Japan


  • Chayanin Angthong, MD, PhD, Thailand 

  • Amgad M. Haleem, MD, PhD, United States

  • Gillian E. Jackson, MBChB, United Kingdom

  • Kevin D. Martin, DO, United States 

  • Sjoerd Stufkens, MD, PhD, Netherlands 


  • Young-uk Park, MD, PhD, South Korea 

  • Sudheer Reddy, MD, United States 

  • Chamnanni Rungprai, MD, Thailand 

  • Martin Wiewiorski, MD, Switzerland 

  • Yuan Zhu, MD, China


  • Wesley Bevan, MBChB, FRACS, New Zealand 

  • Adam Groth, MD, US Military, Germany 

  • Umile Giuseppe Longo, MD, Italy

  • Sampat Dumbre Patil, MBBS, India 

  • Yunfeng Yang, MD, China


  • Jinsu Kim, MD, South Korea

  • D. Joshua Mayich, MD, Canada 

  • Phinit Phisitkul, MD, United States 

  • Balvinder Rana, MS(Orth), India 

  • Weidong Song, MD, PhD, China 

  • Federico G. Usuelli, MD, Italy 


  • Samuel B. Adams, MD, United States

  • Peter Bock, MD, Austria

  • Jose C. Cohen, MD, Brazil 

  • Kenneth J. Hunt, MD, United States 

  • Bom Soo Kim, MD, South Korea 

  • Kevin L. Kirk, DO, United States 


  • Arno Frigg, MD, Switzerland

  • Hyong Nyun Kim, MD, PhD, South Korea

  • Tahir Ögüt, MD, Turkey

  • Christopher Jon Pearce, MBChB, FRCS(Tr&Orth), Singapore

  • Xu Wang, MD, China


  • Umur Aydogan, MD, Turkey

  • Felipe Oliveira Delocco, MD, Brazil

  • Ravindra Kamath, MS(Orth), FRCS(Tr&Orth), United Kingdom 

  • Xin Ma, MD, China

  • Selim Mugrabi, MD, Turkey 


  • Woo Jin Choi, MD, PhD, South Korea

  • Andrew J.L. Jowett, MBBS, FRCS(Tr&Orth), United Kingdom

  • Wesley J. Milazzo, MD, Brazil 

  • Panagiotis Symeonidis, MD, PhD, Greece 

  • Geoffrey M. Tymms, MBBS, Australia 


  • Roberto Bevoni, MD, Italy 

  • Scott J. Ellis, MD, United States

  • Daniel C. Farber, MD, United States

  • Fabian Krause, MD, Switzerland

  • Zhongmin Shi, MD, China 


  • Markus Knupp, MD, Switzerland 

  • Ian L.D. Le, MD, FRCSC, Canada

  • Nicholas Savva, FRCS(Tr&Orth), United Kingdom

  • Eloisa Patricia Parra Téllez, MD, Mexico

  • José Elías Vergara, MD, Panama


  • Malhar H. Dave, MS(Ortho), India

  • Palanisamy Ramesh, MS, MCh, United Kingdom

  • Yousef R. Salameh, MD, Israel 

  • Jose A.V. Sanhudo, MD, Brazil 

  • Francesca Vannini, MD, Italy 


  • Francisco Javier Garcia Bermudez, MD, Colombia 

  • James D.F. Calder, MD, FRCS(Tr&Orth), United Kingdom

  • Mark A. Glazebrook, MD, MSc, PhD, Canada 

  • Peter Stavrou, MD, FRACS, Australia 

  • Alicia Lasalle Vignolo, MD, Uruguay 


  • Su-Young Bae, MD, PhD, South Korea

  • Christopher W. DiGiovanni, MD, United States

  • Hong-Geun Jung, MD, PhD, South Korea

  • Rhys H. Thomas, MBBS, United Kingdom

  • Markus Walther, MD, PhD, Germany