Pillars of the AOFAS Nominations


Any AOFAS member may nominate an individual at any time of year to be honored as a Pillar of the Society. To nominate, submit a letter of support outlining why the individual should be considered to

Pillar Eligibility and Nomination

Pillars of the Society are selected based on an exemplary career and contributions to the AOFAS in one or more of the following categories:

  • Education

  • Research

  • Leadership

  • Philanthropy

Nominations will be considered by the Board of Directors to select individuals for the following year. Pillars will be included in the AOFAS Annual Meeting when the donations totaling $100,000 have been received or committed. If the target goal is not reached in the first year, contributions will carry over for the following year’s program. Beginning in 2019, Pillars may designate the contributions to support Research, Education, Humanitarian Service, or General Support.

Pillar Award and Recognition

Once a Pillar has been confirmed for recognition, he or she will be invited to the Annual Meeting to receive the honor. Pillars receive complimentary meeting and social event registration during the program. The Pillar will be recognized during an award ceremony and given the opportunity to speak following receipt of the honor. Pillars will be recognized in perpetuity within the Society via the AOFAS website and a display at every Annual Meeting honoring each year’s class. Pillars will be invited to Foundation social events at all future Annual Meetings as well.

Donors will be listed on all donor rolls in print publications and on the AOFAS website, and will be invited to all Foundation donor receptions.