Resident Scholarship Program


Congratulations to the 2022 Resident Scholars! Scholarship recipients are listed below. Watch for applications for the 2023 program in Spring 2023.

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program provides an incredible opportunity for orthopaedic surgery residents to attend AOFAS Annual Meeting, where they can explore the foot and ankle specialty, attend special education and networking events, and meet leaders in the field. The scholarship covers registration fees for all meeting activities, lodging, and a transportation stipend. In addition, each Resident Scholar is paired with an AOFAS-member mentor and receives complimentary AOFAS membership for the following year.

Residents at Annual Meeting Resident Session

2022 Annual Meeting Resident Scholars

Monther Abuhantash, MBBCh, MSc, BAO
Adeshina Adeyemo, MD
Dexter C. Allen, MD
Albert T. Anastasio, MD
Thomas B. Anderson, DO
Stephanie Antoniades, MD
Cody C. Ashy, MD
Kerri L. Bell, MD
Nicholas J. Bellas, MD
Jennifer N. Blanda, MD
Levi J. Buchan, DO
Jeffrey C. Byrd, MD
Megan L. Campbell, MD
William A. Cantrell, MD
Valerie Carbajal, MD
Daniel S. Choi, MD
Max Coale, MD
Christian M. Curatolo, MD
Cameron T. Dodd, MD
Elizabeth C. Durante, MD, MSCR
Benjamin J. Farley, MD
Nicholas Farrar, MD
Brian E. Fliegel, DO
Matthew F. Gong, MD
Phillip T. Grisdela Jr., MD
Melissa M. Gross, MD
Theodore T. Guild, MD
Colin J. Harrington, MD
Meghan S.B. Hughes, MD, MPH


Kevin T. Kane, DO
Suzanne E. Kent, MD
Raymond Y. Kim, MD
Gregory J. Kirchner, MD, MPH
Alexander Lieber, MD
David S. Liu, MD
Mary-Katherine Lynch, MD
Dillon J. Macky, MD
William M. Malarkey, MD
Jacob Markel, MD
Wade Massey, MD
Conor F. McCarthy, MD
Neil K. McGroarty, MD
Amanda Mener, MD, PhD
Matt Miller, MD
Mark R. Nazal, MD, MPH
Uzoma A. Nwakibu, MD
Michael Otten, MD
Amber M. Parker, MD
Shiv J. Patel, MD
Neil Pathak, MD
Ryan G. Rogero, MD
Landon Rosevear, DO
Kathryn E. Schultz, MD
Devon Scott, MD
Jared T. Scott, DO
Laura Sokil, MD
Patrick J. Tansey, MD
Kempland C. Walley, MD
John P. Walsh, DO


2022 Winter Meeting Resident Scholars

Justice U. Achonu, MD​
Justin Aflatooni, MD, MS
​Avinesh Agarwalla, MD​
Stephen H. Bayer, MD
​Stephen P. Canton, MD
​Sravya T. Challa, MD
​Jacob T. Hall, MD

Ryan LeDuc, MD
​Sand Mastrangelo, MD​
Jeffrey R. Ruland, MD​
James R. Satalich, MD
​Hunter M. Starring, MD
​Taylor Woolnough, MD

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first, second, or third year of training in a US or Canadian training program.

  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery

  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • Complete and submit the application

  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing their interest in foot and ankle, what they want to learn from this experience, and how they will share what they learn

  • Include a curriculum vitae

  • Obtain a written recommendation from their orthopaedic training program director

Selection Process

Resident Scholarship recipients are selected based on assessment of the resident's application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information, contact the AOFAS Executive Office at

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future Resident Scholarships.