Resident Scholarship Program


Annual Meeting Resident Scholarship applications are now closed. Applications for the 2023 program will open in Spring 2023.

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program provides an incredible opportunity for orthopaedic surgery residents to attend an AOFAS meeting, where they can explore the foot and ankle specialty and meet leaders in the field. The scholarship covers registration fees for all meeting activities, lodging, and a transportation stipend. In addition, each Resident Scholar will be paired with an AOFAS-member mentor and have the opportunity to attend special events.

Residents at Annual Meeting Resident Session

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first, second, or third year of training in a US or Canadian training program.

  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery

  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • Complete and submit the application

  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing their interest in foot and ankle, what they want to learn from this experience, and how they will share what they learn

  • Include a curriculum vitae

  • Obtain a written recommendation from their orthopaedic training program director

Selection Process

Resident Scholarship recipients are selected based on assessment of the resident's application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information, contact the AOFAS Executive Office at

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future Resident Scholarships.

2022 Winter Meeting Resident Scholars

Justice U. Achonu, MD​
Justin Aflatooni, MD, MS
​Avinesh Agarwalla, MD​
Stephen H. Bayer, MD
​Stephen P. Canton, MD
​Sravya T. Challa, MD
​Jacob T. Hall, MD

Ryan LeDuc, MD
​Sand Mastrangelo, MD​
Jeffrey R. Ruland, MD​
James R. Satalich, MD
​Hunter M. Starring, MD
​Taylor Woolnough, MD

2021 Annual Meeting Resident Scholars

Brian D. Batko, MD
Rebekah Belayneh, MD
Roshmi Bhattacharya, MD
Sarah E. Black, MD
Allison Boden, MD
Morgan L. Boren, DO
George J. Borrelli, MD
Matthew J. Braswell, MD
Reed M. Butler, MD
Dwayne D. Carney, MD
Monique C. Chambers, MD
Shaun B. Chang, MD
Caroline Chen, MD
Yvonne C. Conway, MD
Canon C. Cornelius, MD
Michael O. Cotton, MD
Caroline Cristofaro, MBChB
Mary K. Crowe, DO
Amos Z. Dai, MD
John F. Dankert, MD, PhD
Andrew S. Do, MD
Patrick H. Donaghue, MD
John L. Eakin, MD
Emre A. Eren, MD
Stephen D. Forro, DO
Saul W. Fredrickson, MD
Tyler R. Freeman, MD
Heather A. Fuhrman, MD
Annemarie Galasso, MD
Burke Gao, MD
Justin C. Haghverdian, MD
Erik M. Hegeman, MD
Keemia S. Heidari, MD
Matthew E. Henriques, MD
Derrick A. Henry, MD
Alexander C. Higgins, DO
Taylor N. Hockman, DO
Edward S. Hur, MD
Callie A. Jewett, MD
Charles A. Johnson, MD


Megan D. Lameka, MD
Mark C. Lawlor, MD
James A. Lendrum, MD, MPH
Jeffrey P. Liles, MD
Tiffany C. Liu, MD
Philip H. Locker, MD
Adel Mahjoub, MD
Joseph E. Massaglia Jr., DO
Edward J. McDonald, DO
Patrick C. McGregor, MD
James E. Mueller, DO
Daniel P. Murray, MD
Adam Nasreddine, MD
Tolu F. Obafemi, MD
Kevin M. O'Mary, DO
Trevor D. Ottofaro, MD
Matthew J. Pate, MD
Gregory F. Pereira, MD
William S. Polachek, MD
Pooja Prabhakar, MD
Mossub M. Qatu, MD
Amir H. Qureshi, MD
Jesse A. Raszewski, DO
Justin A. Rennard, MD
Olivia M. Rice, MD
Thomas M. Sajda, MD, PhD
Victoria Scala, MD
William "Cole" Skinner, MD
Michelle L. Smith, MD
Richard M. Smith, MD
Carson J. Smith, MD
Yu Min Suh, MD
Eric D. Villarreal, MD
Alexander L. Vlasak, MD
Frederic J.E. Washburn, DO
Paul J. Weatherby, MD
Derrick E. Wendler, MD
Alexander M. Wetzig, MD
Austin E. Wininger, MD