Resident Scholarship Program


Now accepting applications for Winter Meeting 2022 Scholarships! Apply online by October 31, 2021.

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program provides an incredible opportunity for orthopaedic surgery residents to attend an AOFAS meeting, where they can explore the foot and ankle specialty and meet leaders in the field. The scholarship covers registration fees for all meeting activities, plus lodging and a transportation stipend.

Residents at Annual Meeting Resident Session

Apply now for Winter Meeting 2022!

Apply for a Resident Scholarship to attend AOFAS Winter Meeting 2022, to be held February 17-20, 2022, at Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs in Phoenix, Arizona. Orthopaedic surgery residents in the US and Canada who are PGY-1 or PGY-2 during the 2021-22 academic year, or PGY-3 with no foot and ankle rotation at their program, are eligible to apply. Submit your application by October 31, 2021.

Apply Now

"The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program was an exceptionally valuable experience for me... I would sincerely recommend it to any resident with an interest in foot and ankle surgery."

— Adam M. Lukasiewicz, MD, Past Resident Scholar

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first or second year of training in a US or Canadian training program. Third-year residents that do not have a foot and ankle rotation at their training program are also eligible to apply.

  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery

  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • Complete and submit the application

  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing their interest in foot and ankle, what they want to learn from this experience, and how they will share what they learn

  • Include a curriculum vitae

  • Obtain a written recommendation from their orthopaedic training program director

Selection Process

Resident Scholarship recipients are selected based on assessment of the resident's application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information, contact the AOFAS Executive Office at or call 800-235-4855 or +1-847-698-4654 (outside US).

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future Resident Scholarships.

2021 Annual Meeting Resident Scholars

Brian D. Batko, MD
Rebekah Belayneh, MD
Roshmi Bhattacharya, MD
Sarah E. Black, MD
Allison Boden, MD
Morgan L. Boren, DO
George J. Borrelli, MD
Matthew J. Braswell, MD
Reed M. Butler, MD
Dwayne D. Carney, MD
Monique C. Chambers, MD
Shaun B. Chang, MD
Caroline Chen, MD
Yvonne C. Conway, MD
Canon C. Cornelius, MD
Michael O. Cotton, MD
Caroline Cristofaro, MBChB
Mary K. Crowe, DO
Amos Z. Dai, MD
John F. Dankert, MD, PhD
Andrew S. Do, MD
Patrick H. Donaghue, MD
John L. Eakin, MD
Emre A. Eren, MD
Stephen D. Forro, DO
Saul W. Fredrickson, MD
Tyler R. Freeman, MD
Heather A. Fuhrman, MD
Annemarie Galasso, MD
Burke Gao, MD
Justin C. Haghverdian, MD
Erik M. Hegeman, MD
Keemia S. Heidari, MD
Matthew E. Henriques, MD
Derrick A. Henry, MD
Alexander C. Higgins, DO
Taylor N. Hockman, DO
Edward S. Hur, MD
Callie A. Jewett, MD
Charles A. Johnson, MD


Megan D. Lameka, MD
Mark C. Lawlor, MD
James A. Lendrum, MD, MPH
Jeffrey P. Liles, MD
Tiffany C. Liu, MD
Philip H. Locker, MD
Adel Mahjoub, MD
Joseph E. Massaglia Jr., DO
Edward J. McDonald, DO
Patrick C. McGregor, MD
James E. Mueller, DO
Daniel P. Murray, MD
Adam Nasreddine, MD
Tolu F. Obafemi, MD
Kevin M. O'Mary, DO
Trevor D. Ottofaro, MD
Matthew J. Pate, MD
Gregory F. Pereira, MD
William S. Polachek, MD
Pooja Prabhakar, MD
Mossub M. Qatu, MD
Amir H. Qureshi, MD
Jesse A. Raszewski, DO
Justin A. Rennard, MD
Olivia M. Rice, MD
Thomas M. Sajda, MD, PhD
Victoria Scala, MD
William "Cole" Skinner, MD
Michelle L. Smith, MD
Richard M. Smith, MD
Carson J. Smith, MD
Yu Min Suh, MD
Eric D. Villarreal, MD
Alexander L. Vlasak, MD
Frederic J.E. Washburn, DO
Paul J. Weatherby, MD
Derrick E. Wendler, MD
Alexander M. Wetzig, MD
Austin E. Wininger, MD