Resident Scholarship Program


Congratulations to the 2021 Resident Scholars! Scholarship recipients are listed below. Applications for the 2022 program will be available in Spring 2022.

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program provides an incredible opportunity for orthopaedic surgery residents to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina, where they can explore the foot and ankle specialty and meet leaders in the field. The scholarship covers registration fees for all Annual Meeting activities, plus lodging and a transportation stipend.

Residents at Annual Meeting Resident Session

In addition, each Resident Scholar is paired with an AOFAS-member mentor and attends an exclusive gathering where they can meet mentors and other scholarship recipients.

Orthopaedic surgery residents in the US and Canada who are PGY-1, PGY-2, and PGY-3 during the academic year are eligible to apply. Applications are evaluated on a competitive basis.

If it is necessary to change the Annual Meeting to a virtual format, the selected Resident Scholars will receive complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting and virtual participation will be required.

2021 Resident Scholars

Brian D. Batko, MD
Rebekah Belayneh, MD
Roshmi Bhattacharya, MD
Sarah E. Black, MD
Allison Boden, MD
Morgan L. Boren, DO
George J. Borrelli, MD
Matthew J. Braswell, MD
Reed M. Butler, MD
Dwayne D. Carney, MD
Monique C. Chambers, MD
Shaun B. Chang, MD
Caroline Chen, MD
Yvonne C. Conway, MD
Canon C. Cornelius, MD
Michael O. Cotton, MD
Caroline Cristofaro, MBChB
Mary K. Crowe, DO
Amos Z. Dai, MD
John F. Dankert, MD, PhD
Andrew S. Do, MD
Patrick H. Donaghue, MD
John L. Eakin, MD
Emre A. Eren, MD
Stephen D. Forro, DO
Saul W. Fredrickson, MD
Tyler R. Freeman, MD
Heather A. Fuhrman, MD
Annemarie Galasso, MD
Burke Gao, MD
Justin C. Haghverdian, MD
Erik M. Hegeman, MD
Keemia S. Heidari, MD
Matthew E. Henriques, MD
Derrick A. Henry, MD
Alexander C. Higgins, DO
Taylor N. Hockman, DO
Edward S. Hur, MD
Callie A. Jewett, MD
Charles A. Johnson, MD


Megan D. Lameka, MD
Mark C. Lawlor, MD
James A. Lendrum, MD, MPH
Jeffrey P. Liles, MD
Tiffany C. Liu, MD
Philip H. Locker, MD
Adel Mahjoub, MD
Joseph E. Massaglia Jr., DO
Edward J. McDonald, DO
Patrick C. McGregor, MD
James E. Mueller, DO
Daniel P. Murray, MD
Adam Nasreddine, MD
Tolu F. Obafemi, MD
Kevin M. O'Mary, DO
Trevor D. Ottofaro, MD
Matthew J. Pate, MD
Gregory F. Pereira, MD
William S. Polachek, MD
Pooja Prabhakar, MD
Mossub M. Qatu, MD
Amir H. Qureshi, MD
Jesse A. Raszewski, DO
Justin A. Rennard, MD
Olivia M. Rice, MD
Thomas M. Sajda, MD, PhD
Victoria Scala, MD
William "Cole" Skinner, MD
Michelle L. Smith, MD
Richard M. Smith, MD
Carson J. Smith, MD
Yu Min Suh, MD
Eric D. Villarreal, MD
Alexander L. Vlasak, MD
Frederic J.E. Washburn, DO
Paul J. Weatherby, MD
Derrick E. Wendler, MD
Alexander M. Wetzig, MD
Austin E. Wininger, MD

"The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program was an exceptionally valuable experience for me... I would sincerely recommend it to any resident with an interest in foot and ankle surgery."

— Adam M. Lukasiewicz, MD, Past Resident Scholar

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first, second, or third year of training (excluding time spent in research) in a US or Canadian training program

  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery

  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • Complete and submit the application

  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing their interest in foot and ankle, what they want to learn from this experience, and how they will share what they learn

  • Include a curriculum vitae

  • Obtain a written recommendation from their orthopaedic training program director

Selection Process

Resident Scholarship recipients are selected by the AOFAS Awards and Scholarships Committee based on assessment of the resident's application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information, contact the AOFAS Executive Office at or call 800-235-4855 or +1-847-698-4654 (outside US).

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future Resident Scholarships.