Annual Meeting

Full Meeting Program


AOFAS Annual Meeting 2020
September 9-12, 2020
Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center
San Antonio, Texas

AOFAS President: William C. McGarvey, MD
Program Chair: Scott J. Ellis, MD

Click on the links below to explore the schedule by date. 


Wednesday, September 9

Thursday, September 10

Friday, September 11

Saturday, September 12


Schedule, faculty, and topics subject to change. All sessions held at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center unless noted otherwise.
The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS) is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. The AOFAS designates this live activity for a maximum of 18.5 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsPhysicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Wednesday, September 9

7:00 am – 5:00 pm
Resident Program

Information coming soon!

2:00 – 8:00 pm


6:00 – 8:00 pm
Welcome Reception (Exhibit Hall)

Register Now

Go to day:  Thursday  |  Friday  |  Saturday

Thursday, September 10

6:00 am – 5:30 pm

6:00 – 7:00 am

6:55 – 7:00 am
Welcome and Introduction
Scott J. Ellis, MD, Program Chair


7:00 – 8:00 am
Symposium 1: What Is the Best Bunion Surgery and Why?
Moderator: Amiethab A. Aiyer, MD

James R. Holmes, MD

Emilio Wagner, MD

Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD

Steven K. Neufeld, MD

Peter Bock, MD

A. Holly Johnson, MD


8:00 – 9:00 am



9:00 – 10:00 am
Keynote Speaker: Pamela Wible, MD

In between treating patients and helping doctors launch community clinics, Dr. Wible devotes herself to the prevention of medical student and physician suicide. She has investigated nearly 1,300 doctor suicides and her extensive database and suicide registry reveals highest risk specialties and solutions.


10:00 – 11:00 am


11:00 – 12:00 pm
Symposium 2: Prevention and Management of Physician Burnout
Moderator: Casey J. Humbyrd, MD

Katherine Sage, DO

Sandra E. Klein, MD

Michael S. Aronow, MD

Bruce E. Cohen, MD

Naomi N. Shields, MD

Robert Nugent, DO

12:00 – 1:30 pm
Break and Fellowship Fair


1:30 – 2:30 pm
Symposium 3: Novel Coronavirus COVID-19
Moderator: Harold B. Kitaoka, MD

Mohit Bhandari, MD, PhD


2:30 – 3:30 pm



3:30 - 4:30 pm
Symposium 4: Tackling the Stage IV Flatfoot
Moderator: Steven L. Haddad, MD

Jonathan T. Deland, MD

Jeffrey D. Seybold, MD

Mark E. Easley, MD

Steven L. Haddad, MD

Timothy R. Daniels, MD, FRCSC


4:30 – 5:30 pm


Optimizing Technology in Radiology to Treat Foot and Ankle Patients
Moderator: Carolyn M. Sofka, MD

Manickam Kumaravel, MD

Cesar de Cesar Netto, MD, PhD

Charles L. Saltzman, MD

Carolyn M. Sofka, MD

Bone Loss Deformity Arthritis: Modern Use of External Fixation and Other Contemporary Methods
Moderator: William C. McGarvey, MD

Joseph R. Hsu, MD

Douglas N. Beaman, MD

Austin Fragomen, MD

Paul T. Fortin, MD


5:00 – 6:30 pm
Foundation Reception (by invitation only)


6:00 – 7:30 pm
Women's Leadership Reception
(by invitation only)

Register Now

Go to day:  Wednesday  |  Friday  |  Saturday

Friday, September 11

6:30 am – 5:15 pm


7:00 – 8:00 am



8:00 – 9:00 am



9:00 – 9:30 am
Research Speaker: Kevin Bozic, MD, MBA

Dr. Bozic is a nationally recognized leader in orthopaedic surgery with research interests in healthcare technology assessment, cost-effectiveness analysis, shared medical decision-making, and the implementation and evaluation of value-based payment and delivery models.


9:30 – 9:55 am
Presidential Remarks and Award Presentations

9:55 – 10:55 am


10:55 – 11:25 am
PED Talk: Management of the NBA Player with Foot and Ankle Injuries
Martin J. O'Malley, MD


10:55 – 11:25 am
Symposium 6: Kenneth A. Johnson Symposium on Controversies in Foot and Ankle Surgery
Moderator: Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD

Martinus Richter, MD, PhD
Kenneth A. Johnson International Speaker

Peter G. Mangone, MD

Mark C. Drakos, MD

Rebecca A. Cerrato, MD

Matthew M. Roberts, MD

Andrea N. Veljkovic, MD, MPH, FRCSC

David S. Levine, MD

Phinit Phisitkul, MD

Rachel J. Shakked, MD


12:25 – 12:40 pm
Business Meeting

12:40 – 1:30 pm

1:30 – 2:00 pm
Foundation Update


2:00 – 3:00 pm
Symposium 7: Charcot Marie Tooth: The Cutting Edge
Moderator: Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD

Richard Lewis, MD

Paul T. Fortin, MD

Glenn B. Pfeffer, MD

Max Michalski, MD

Steven M. Raikin, MD


3:00 – 4:00 pm



4:00 – 5:30 pm


Research Forum: Measuring What Matters in Orthopaedic Surgery
Moderator: Harold B. Kitaoka, MD

Alastair S.E. Younger, MBChB, ChM, FRCSC

Vinod K. Panchbhavi, MD

Judith F. Baumhauer, MD, MPH

Kenneth J. Hunt, MD

Daniel Guss, MD, MBA

Nelson SooHoo, MD


Coding and Practice Management Symposium
Moderator: John A. DiPreta, MD

Aaron J. Guyer, MD

R. Dale Blasier, MD

Tye J. Ouzounian, MD


Allied Health Symposium
Moderator: Thomas M. Hearty, MD, DPT


Humanitarian Service Symposium: International Experience on Ankle Fracture
Moderator: John Y. Kwon, MD

Kiran J. Agarwal-Harding, MD

Leonard Banza, MD

J. Turner Vosseller, MD

Daniel C. Farber, MD

Rajiv S. Shah, MS(Orth)

Eric C. Gokcen, MD


6:30 – 9:30 pm
Celebrate San Antonio Event (Buckhorn Saloon and Texas Ranger Museum)

Register Now

Go to day:  Wednesday  | Thursday  |  Saturday 

Saturday, September 12

7:00 am – noon

7:00 – 8:00 am



8:00 – 9:00 am
Symposium 9: Guest Nation: Chile
Moderator: Emilio Wagner, MD

Pablo Wagner, MD

Jorge Filippi, MD, MBA

Cristian A. Ortiz, MD

Manuel J. Pellegrini, MD

Eduardo Fuentes Morales, MD


9:00 – 10:00 am
Symposium 10: Managing Fractures in the Elderly
Moderator: Jason K. Bariteau, MD

Kevin L. Kirk, DO

Kelly K. Hynes, MD

Kelly C. Stéfani, MD, PhD

Jacob R. Zide, MD

Samuel B. Adams, MD


10:00 – 11:00 am



11:00 am – noon
Symposium 11: What Is the Best Total Ankle Replacement and Why?
Moderator: Constantine A. Demetracopolus, MD

Lew C. Schon, MD

David I. Pedowitz, MD

Jeremy J. McCormick, MD

Mark E. Easley, MD

David B. Thordarson, MD

Mark P. Slovenkai, MD



Register Now

Go to day:  Wednesday  |  Thursday  |  Friday