Resident Scholarship Program

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program awards scholarships to orthopaedic surgery residents interested in exploring the foot and ankle specialty.

Scholarship recipients will attend the 2016 AOFAS Annual Meeting, Sports Course and Young Orthopaedic Surgeons Forum free of registration, lodging and with a travel stipend.

Scholarships are awarded to orthopaedic surgery residents who are PGY1, PGY2, and PGY3 during the 2015-16 academic year. Residents in US and Canadian programs may apply.




Applications are considered on a competitive basis, and scholarships cover registration fees for the Annual Meeting, Sports Course, and the Young Orthopaedic Surgeons Forum. Scholarships also cover lodging and a transportation stipend for travel expenses.

Click here for an application for the 2017 Resident Scholarship program.  

Program Guidelines

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society awards scholarships to PGY1, PGY2, or PGY3 orthopaedic residents in US and Canadian training programs. This is an opportunity to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting, learn more about foot and ankle surgery, and network with leading foot and ankle surgeons. 

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first, second, or third year of training (excluding time spent in research) in a US or Canadian training program
  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery
  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

The applicant must:

  • Complete and submit the application by the deadline of March 1, 2017
  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing the applicant’s interest in foot and ankle, what the applicant hopes to learn from this experience, and how the applicant will share what he/she has learned
  • Include a curriculum vitae
  • Obtain the written recommendation of his/her orthopaedic training program director

Resident Scholarship Selection

Resident scholarship recipients are selected by the AOFAS Awards and Scholarships Committee based on assessment of the resident’s application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information contact or call 847-430-5082.

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future resident scholarships. ​​​​​​​​​​​​


 Thanks you for Support


Thank You for Support
Stryker and Wright  

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program 2015 was funded by the Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation with grants from Stryker and Wright Medical Technology, Inc.

Congratulations to the 2016 Resident Scholars​!

Mostafa Abousayed, MB BCh
Christopher Adair, MD
Craig Chike Akoh, MD
Shannon Alejandro, MD
Dillon Arango, MD
Lara Atwater, MD
Malick Bachabi, MD
Patrick Barousse, MD
Taylor Beahrs, MD
David Beck, MD
Christopher Belyea, MD, MBA
Kevin Campbell, MD
Jeremy Chan, MD
Megan Clair Chapter, DO
Grant Cochran, MD
Catherine Conlin, MD
Sally Corey, DO
Matthew Crawford, MD
James Davies, MD
Robert G. Dekker, MD
Fred Finney, MD
Jason A. Fogleman, MD
Mitchell Fourman, MD
Rabun Fox, MD
David A. Goss, Jr, DO
Roman Guerrero-Maestre, MD
Ajay Gurbani, MD
David Hankins, MD
Sarah Heintzman, MD
Karl Henrikson, MD
Adam Huff, MD
Sean Lannon, MD
Brian Lau, MD
Robert Lewis, MD
Evan Loewy, MD
Andrew P. Matson, MD
Roshan Melvani, MD
Stuart Michnick, MD
Brandon Morris, MD
Devon Nixon, MD
Matthew Pigott, MD
Jessica Reissig, DO
Damien Richardson, MD
Kenneth Smith, Jr, MD
Niall Smyth, MD
Lauren Szolomayer, MD
Rufus Van Dyke, MD
Martin Weisman, MD
Megan Wolf, MD
Chia Wu, MD​, MBA

Click here for list of 2010-2015 Resident Scholars. ​​​