Resident Scholarship Program

The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program provides an incredible opportunity for orthopaedic surgery residents to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting as guests of the Society and learn from leaders in the foot and ankle field.

​The scholarship covers registration fees for all Annual Meeting activities, including the Pre-meeting Course and Young Orthopaedic Surgeons Forum, along with lodging and a transportation stipend. In addition, Resident Scholars attend an exclusive gathering where they can network with experienced surgeons who serve as "mentors" in the program, as well as other scholarship recipients.

Orthopaedic surgery residents in the US and Canada who are PGY-1, PGY-2, and PGY-3 during the 2017-18 academic year are eligible to apply​. Applications are evaluated on a competitve basis. Applications are due March 1, 2018.

Download the 2018 Resident Scholarship Application​

 2017 Resident Scholars


Program Guidelines

The American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society awards Resident Scholarships to PGY-1, PGY-2, and PGY-3 orthopaedic residents in US and Canadian training programs. This is an opportunity to attend the AOFAS Annual Meeting, learn more about foot and ankle surgery, and network with leading foot and ankle surgeons. 

Scholarship Criteria

The applicant must:

  • Be an orthopaedic surgery resident in first, second, or third year of training (excluding time spent in research) in a US or Canadian training program
  • Demonstrate enthusiasm for and have a sincere interest in foot and ankle surgery
  • Be in good academic standing

Application Process

Applicants must:

  • Complete and submit the application by the deadline of March 1, 2018
  • Include a personal statement (no longer than 500 words) describing their interest in foot and ankle, what they want to learn from this experience, and how they will share what they learn
  • Include a curriculum vitae
  • Obtain a written recommendation from their orthopaedic training program director

Resident Scholarship Selection

Resident scholarship recipients are selected by the AOFAS Awards and Scholarships Committee based on assessment of the resident’s application, demonstrated interest in foot and ankle, and recommendation of the training program director.

For more information, contact Membership Manager Krista Stewart at or call 847-430-5082.

Note: The Resident Scholarship is a non-transferable, one-time-only opportunity. Scholars agree to abide by program terms and acknowledge that acceptance of a scholarship precludes receiving any future resident scholarships. ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


 Thank You for Your Support


The AOFAS Resident Scholarship Program is funded by the Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Foundation, supported in part by grants from Arthrex, Inc., Stryker, and Wright Medical Technology, Inc.

Wright logo with Tagline Cropped.png

Congratulations to the 2017 Resident Scholars​!

Tonya W. An, MD
Victor J. Anciano Granadillo, MD
Christopher B. Arena, MD
Keith T. Aziz, MD
Collin Barber, MD
David A. Barcel, MD
Thomas B. Bemenderfer, MD
David C. Berken, MD
Daniel D. Bohl, MD
Mark W. Bowers, MD
Daniel M. Briggs, MD
Alex T. Burton, MD
David Buzas, MD
Michael J. Casale, MD
Jie Chen, MD
Bonnie Y. Chien, MD
Bopha Chrea, MD
David J. Ciufo, MD
Benjamin B. Clippinger, MD
Rose E. Cortina, MD
Kipp A. Cryar, MD
Austin R. Davidson, MD
James B. Deal, MD
Katherine M. Dederer, MD
Kelly R. Esposito, MD
Brian M. Fisher, MD
Samuel E. Ford, MD
Joyce M. Fu, MD
Oliver Gagne, MD
Kevin Goodson, MD
Paul J. Goodwyn, MD
Danielle Gurin, DO
Elizabeth A. Harkin, MD
Roxane Heroux-Legault, MD
Rajbir S. Hundal, MD
Damian A. Illing, MD
Douglas L. Jarvis, MD
Alex A. Johnson, MD
James S. Jung, MD
John D. King, MD
Jeremy F. Kubik, MD
Casey S. Kuripla, MD
Sarah T. Lander, MD
Benjamin B. Lindsey, MD
Laura R. Luick, MD
Ashlee P. MacDonald, MD
Alexander H. MacDonell IV, MD Matthew R. McDonald, MD
Brett D. Meeks, MD
Naudereh B. Noori, MD
Michael H. Orden, MD
Peters T. Otlans, MD
Christina M. Ottomeyer, DO
Robert C. Palmer, MD
Michelle M. Phelps, MD
James T. Redshaw, MD
Megan E. Reilly, MD
Daniel J. Scott, MD
Michael L. Sims, MD
Drew Stal, MD
Kristen L. Stupay, MD
David Vier, MD
Parth S. Vyas, DO
Jory N. Wasserburger, MD
David A. Weiner, MD
Robert P. Wessel, MD
Steven R. Wilding, MD   

Click here for list of 2010-2016 Resident Scholars​